Our Vision

To be the premier service provider of the commercial capital of Sri Lanka

Our Mission

Fulfill the needs of the people of colombo to their satisfaction in an efficient and productive manner, conforming with the policies of the government and principles of Good Governance
Colombo derived its name from a classical origin" kolon thota" which means port on the river kelani. However many is of the opinion that a Sinhalese origin is also behind the framing of the name Colombo. The Sinhalese name "Kola Amba Thota" meaning 'harbor with leafy mango trees' also goes in giving the capital city its present name.  Colombo became the capital city of Sri Lanka only in the year 1815, when it gave itself up to the authority of the British Empire. However, the position of acting as the capital was retained after Sri Lanka gained independence in 1948. Colombo came to be regarded as the country's commercial hub in 1978 when the administrative office was shifted to Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte. Colombo has been well known by traders from almost 2000 years ago. The Romans, Chinese, Arab traders preferred this port city as it enhanced their trade to a great extent. Portuguese set their feet on the soil of Sri Lanka in 1505 and chose this country mainly for the benefit of their spice trade. During the period of the Dutch rule, Colombo served as the capital of the Maritime Provinces put under the strict control of the Dutch East India Company. The British were the last to invade the port city in 1796. However, the port city gained the status of being the capital only in 1815. Until and unless the Municipal council was established in January 1866, the city was governed by the Government Agent of the Western Province. In historical terms, Colombo refers to the area around the Fort and the Pettah Market. In recent times Colombo is identified with the city limits of the Municipal Council of Colombo.

History of Colombo Divisional Secretariat

Before 1999, Colombo Municipal Council area was regarded as only one Divisional Secretariat Division. Later, this office was divided in to two; namely, Colombo and Thimbirigasyaya. There are 47 urban divisions in Colombo Municipal Council. Though the Grama Niladhari divisions were established according to those urban divisions, another 8 Grama Niladhari divisions were established considering the population density. Accordingly the total no. of Grama Niladhari divisions is 55. Out of those 55, 35 belong to Colombo Divisional Secretariat. According to the 2001 census, Colombo Divisional Secretariat Division had the highest population density which was 377,396. It was estimated to be 425,000 by the year 2005. Since then, this office has faced so many difficulties and developed a mechanism to serve the public more effectively efficiently.

Role performed at DS

Name From To
Reman Perera 1991 1991
A.H.M.P. Abeysinghe 1992 1994
R.A.D. Perera 1994 1996
Vass Siril Gunawardhana 1994 1996
G.A.J Sylvester 1996.08.27 2001.08.31
M.P.E. Rukmani 2001.10.01 2005.01.31
A.J. Karunarathne (Acting) 2005.02.01 2005.06.07
Kanthi Perera 2005.06.08 2007.07.05
A.J. Karunarathne (Acting) 2007.07.06 2008.03.31
K.G. Dharamathilaka 2008.04.01 2013.06.30
Amal J.S.S. Edirisooriya (Acting)


D.P. Wickramasinghe 2013.11.01 2019.11.29
M.A.S.K. Gunawardhane 2019.12.02 2021.02.22
N.Rathnayake 2021.02.23  

News & Events

Rural Women's Training program

Rural Women's Training program

  Rural Women's Training Centre starts recruiting...

Blood Donation Program

Blood Donation Program

     Blood donation program was held...

Scroll To Top